blackpaws

What do I tell this customer?

Okay so this is a follow up to my last thread about what I did wrong. Just a recap - a friend of a friend wanted decals. I made a proof, and instead of placing an order right away they said they were in conversation with 2 other shops. Well today they got backed to me and asked me to change a couple things on the proof and resend it.That's ALL they said. Nothing about whether I had the best prices, for sure going with me, or anything. Just wanted some changes to the proof.

I have decided I'm not doing anything else until I see a dollar from this person. How do I tell them they aren't getting jack shit from me until they place an order and pay in full, but in the nicest way possible? I'm not good with words and it's late. If you all want to share your policies on these types of scenarios and what you would say, that would help tremendously. Thanks!!!! 

Invoice them for the total job, with a request for 50% deposit to proceed.

On the invoice, that policy should be noted at the bottom.

This is called a Pro-Forma Invoice.

• Like 1

Yep, just tell them you need a 50% deposit to move forward. Say that you will provide the requested design modification and send a proof after receiving the deposit. It's common practice. Unless you want to be in the business of designing stuff for the shop down the road to make because they were $1 cheaper than you.

It's also pretty standard to limit design changes without additional design charges. Let's say 3 simple changes free of charge, then it's 1/2 hour minimum charge for more changes.

• Like 1

+1 on what the others have said... as well as taking the correspondence opportunity to

remind them that the proof they currently have belongs to you (if that's the case).

Yes watermark it for sure.. I had a similar case and they took my design and ran with it.. Now i watermark everything with a light color in the background so they cannot get it out