gcextreme

Data Backup

Im new here..looking into getting an SC 34" and a heat press for shirts.

My question is, how are people backing up thier files and organizing their work and client data?

Im thinking of using an external hard drive, maybe 500g, and also backing up stuff to disks (dvds or cds) and maybe jump/flash drives.

I know from experience that u can never have enuff backups....hard drives fail, disks go bad, and flash drives get lost and go bad....

Maybe people are using The Cloud??

I do all of the above. I've never tried out Cloud, so I can't comment on that. What kind of heat press are you looking at getting?

Not sure on the heat press....i just want to be able to make shirts and such....maybe hats too??

I am a web developer and i back up all my clients stuff to an external hard drive and then each client also gets their stuff backed up on flash drives....

Every now and then i back up everything to dvds...

Just looking for more backup suggestions and advice....and advice on organizing stuff...

Like right now my root folder is "Websites" then each customer has their own folder...then inside thier folder are more folders...one name theirsite.com and other folders for thier business and their billing infos..

Thinking of doing the same thing with the vinyl stuff.......

3 external hd's here to back up data.  main computer has 5tb right now = going to 5.5tb soon

Main PC has Raid 0+1 (Striping for speed with a mirror on a second set of HD's for back up), 1tb external HD for secondary daily backups, and DVD's for storage backups that go into a fire safe.

And next on the list is a Drobo Drive for real time backups. These things are amazing.

We haven't backed up any files yet, as we just started our business, but we already have a ton of files, and fonts, so we recently bought a 2tb external HD.  We're going to begin transferring our files over to that, as back up.

Ang