Sign in to follow this  
jguajardo

Vinyl Cutting questions

When making small letter or logos on a vinyl sheet what type of blade do you use ? Or are there techniques to do so ? I'm a newbie to this kind of stuff so any advice could help. Thanks

a properly set up cutter with a 60 degree cleancut works for everything 

Also, cut very slow.

Watch you pressure also, if small letters seem to be popping off when cutting try reducing your pressure a little.

Jay

a properly set up cutter with a 60 degree cleancut works for everything 

I second that.

I followed Dakotagrafx's advice and upgraded to a CleanCut blade and found it was easier to cut and weed even smaller designs than ever before.

+1 on the Cleancut 60 blade. I just got my first 1 last week after reading several comments from Dakotagrafx. Well worth the money.

Jay

remember to use the absolute least blade possible for the fine cuts.  also if you change to a cleancut make sure you drop your pressure 30 percent plus and start with too little blade - if you cut thru the backing it can break the tip.  they last longer because they are harder - which means more brittle so not as forgiving if you cut deep in your cutting strip  when they turn.  I usually go a year of more on a cleancut blade.  last one I did have to replace in the printer in 11 months though.  after that point they go into the extra holder for metallics/reflective as you usually are not cutting as fine of stuff with that material and it is so hard on blades.   When I refurb machines the first thing they get is a new cleancut!