JD22

Titan 3 Blade Recommendations

I'm new to cutting vinyl. Just picked up the titan 3 a couple months ago and I'm finally getting around to trying it.

I would like to cut some small logos for my shop. I'm thinking like 3" x 2.5" with lettering. Right now I'm using 45 degree cheaper Blades offered from the uscutter site. I'm using 631 vinyl. The small letters look alright but sometimes they pull up while I'm trying to weed. I did the test cut feature but it still seems to do it. Once I make the logo bigger it works better. What recommendations would you guys have?

Thanks!

Depends on who you ask. I am a huge fan for Clean Cut Blades.  If there's smaller, more intricate, or thin lines happening, then a 60 degree, and slowing down the speed should help you.  I'm not a fan of changing blades, so I cut just about anything (with exception to reflective), with my 60* blade, which resides in the carriage about 90% of the time.

If the stuff if coming up as you weed, you might need to increase the force just a smidgen, so that it's cutting through the adhesive as well.  Another issue is how long are you allowing your cut vinyl to sit before weeding.  I will generally not allow any cut vinyl to sit for more than 24-hour without being weeded.  If I can't weed a project within 24-hours, then I don't cut it until I can make the time.

I weed as soon as it's done cutting. 

The more pressure I use the more it seems like it picks up corners and drags them along for a little. I pulled the blade holder off and cleaned it out to make sure there wasn't vinyl stuck inside. I have been reading about putting a drop of oil inside so the blade rotates. Is that something that is recommended? My cutting speed is usually in the 30's and the force is around 99g.

Thanks!

You might want to make sure you have the blade depth set properly.  This is what you're aiming for ...

blade depth.jpg

And you can use Skeeter's instructions on how to get there.