Sign in to follow this  
wilson750

Who use's the heat press's in here?

Once again id just like to get some feedback!! I am new to all of this..How many of you make shirts from vinyl? Is it worth it? I was looking to buy a heat press,just wanted to get some feedback!! How long does this vinyl last on the shirts? any info would be great!!

Hi

My name is Joe and t-shirts is what I do. I use t shirt vinyl and a heat press every day. I used to do screenprinting but got tired of the emulsion mess, the time consuming procedure and stuff.  I discovered t shirt vinyl and ever since I have been in love with it. The best thing about it is that you can make custom one-of- a kind shirts.

Is it worth it? Well that depends on you, on what your goals are and what use are you going to give it. To me it has been the best investment ever along with the cutter (a Refine by the way). Do you have a market? Are you talented in fashion stuff? Do you see yourself making and enjoying t shirts? Those are the questions you have to answer. To me it is my main business, for others it makes a great supplemental income to their sign/decal businesses.

How long they last? Depends on what vinyl you use and how well you follow instructions. If you use a good vinyl and apply correctly, it is expected to last as much or more than screenprinting. I have read it can outlast the shirt.

I have soooo many t shirts with vinyl and I have never had any peeling off or anything. I think this also depends on how you care about them.

Browse in the show your work section, I've posted a few shirts there.

If its worth it. Only you know.

Joe

I have a couple navy blue sweatshirts that we put white heat applied vinyl on and 2 years later the shirt is fading and the vinyl is as good as the day we pressed it on.

I definitely don't think you will be disappointed, but than again that's my personal opinion.

We do own a heat press and love making shirts. 

Jenny