Well, its getting to be a busier time of the year (I know my end is picking up some, I hope yours is too!) and I've been getting a fews commercial inquiries. However, with the economy being so poor, my bids have been getting crushed! I don't know if it's Craigslist or other businesses quoting way low, but I've have the cut my prices by almost 25%. I price graphics larger than 10" by the linear foot (15" and a 24" price) and for 15" of Oracal 651 used to get me about $6.75/ft. Now, $5.75, and specialty vinyl has taken even more of a hit for me.

My question here is what everyone has been doing with their pricing since the economy has gone down?

Also, I'm a part time business owner working to make this full time, but I had a bid on a Box Truck, 2 Pickups, 25 Yard Signs, and 2,000 business cards (4 color design) that i had quoted for $2,200. I lowered to almost $1,400 and got out bid by someone doing it for $987. How can you compete with that!

That kind of Competition sucks!!

The problem you run into is the people that think of the $987 dollars as big money..They do it with the idea of big money...I look at them and go YOU GO AHEAD.It used to bother me whenit happened, but you learn IT'S not all about money.Let them spend a day or 2 or 3 days for $987 bucks..I will keep plugging along with my jobs and when your out of business I will still be here...

The people that do jobs for free will eventually stop doing them or start charging for them..The only trick is to stay longer than those guys if you can...

Kill em ( the customer) with great service and a great price..Which sometimes means taking one for the team..JUST hope you don't have to take those kinda prices often..

Also find a niche that sets you aside from your competition..Originality is the best niche to be in, great service and pricing AND original makes you UNIQUE...Not everyone can be...