Sign in to follow this  
kctrader

Cutting Tiles

I'm new to using Signblazer Elements.    I tried to cut a large banner and kept getting the "waiting" indicator on my cutter.  I read on here that I should cut it as a number of tiles.  However,  I can't find a way to have more than one tile at a time.  The manual shows a tile button at the top, but I can't seem to find it anywhere.  I do have the "auto tile" button.   Any help?  Thanks.  

Hello,

To cut graphic images larger than the width of your vinyl is simple in SignBlazer.

SignBlazer does most of the work for you.

There is really only two things that you have to do.

1. Make sure that your workspace area is big enough to enclose the graphics at full size.

2. In cutter setup make sure that the width and length of your vinyl is correct.  For example if your vinyl is 2 feet then enter 24 inches.  It is not wise to cut more than about 4 feet or 1200mm.  This is to ensure that one person can handle each tile.

Also depending on the actual size of the job i suggest a tile overlap from half to an inch.

The rest is simple.  When you press cut, the tile menu comes up automatically.

This allows you to cut any tile in any order

Also allows you to recut a tile if you make a mess of it.

Also allows you to reload the vinyl for each tile if you wish.

Our tiling menu was developed back in the days when if only one or two billboards were needed then they were cut out of vinyl.

If more than three were needed then they were screen printed. 

Nowadays they are all inkjet printed.

Users of SignBlazer have praised how easy it is to use for many, many years.

Oh, one interesting thing that is undocumented is that if you press Control plus S while in the cutting menu then this tiling info is saved into the file.