Sign in to follow this  
NukleoN

12" Cutter, good value?

Hi there,

I'm an artist in the video game business and I've gotten the idea to start making my own vinyl decals, especially since I tend to have project motorcycles or cars and always need custom or specific decals. I spent $30 on one custom single decal recently, and it was only 1 color. The shipping itself is a monster. And of course, if I mess up a decal I gotta order again, pay for it, wait for shipping and re-apply. Seems like I am a good candidate for a cutter, eh?

So, I am definitely going to get a cutter, and I've been looking at the USCutters, but which one? I was thinking about a 12" desktop model, but who knows, I might need to make bigger graphics later and it seems like most vinyl comes in 24" wide rolls. Seems like a 25" cutter is the way to go!

What are these printers capable of? I see people making shirts, are you simply printing on iron-on material of some sort? How useful are contour cuts for a printer, and should this be a serious consideration? I have some full-color art I wouldn't mind putting on stuff, so being able to contour-cut a white printed sheet might be cool.

I am still learning all the jargon. What does it mean to 'weed' a decal, is this when you peel it off the backing paper and gather all the tiny bits that won't unstick?

Does most vinyl come with a sticky backing?

Thanks in advance. The text keeps bouncing up and down while I type, why is that?

To answer my own question, I am running the latest version of Explorer, 8.0.6. I have to run this site in compatibility mode to get it to behave whilst posting, otherwise it auto-scrolls up whilst I am typing and I can't read my own text.

Hi Nukleon,