Sign in to follow this  
Ray

The new guy

Greetings all. Names Ray. Live in the south Chicago area. New to this vinyl thing. Bought a used 24" Vinyl Express cutter w/ Lxi 8.5 Vinyl Express software. Some backround, I'm a motorcycle mechanic and racer. I'm also V.P. of a motorcycle club/race team, So this vinyl computer thing is new to me. We purchased this setup due to the rising cost of vinyl in the area ( what was 7.00 a piece last year has gone to 12.00 this year). Ive been having trouble getting our logo to vector from jpeg. I did contact a member of this forum and had him do the work for me (lazy I guess) but still cant cut. It keeps giving "File format not supported". Now for the new guy question, Am I missing something? I did download Inkscape after reading that I needed that type of software still lost. :thumbsup:??

Welcome Ray to the forum. I wish I could help you out but I dont know anything about your plotter or the software...sorry!

Inkscape is a good program to vectorize, but you said you paid someone to do it for you, so you dont need it for that.

Make sure the graphic your cutting is in eps ( or ai ) format depending on your cutter program.

with sign blazer I use eps files and I dont open them I import them. Not sure if this will help you or not!

Renee

Welcome Ray to the forum. I wish I could help you out but I dont know anything about your plotter or the software...sorry!

Inkscape is a good program to vectorize, but you said you paid someone to do it for you, so you dont need it for that.

Make sure the graphic your cutting is in eps ( or ai ) format depending on your cutter program.

with sign blazer I use eps files and I dont open them I import them. Not sure if this will help you or not!

Renee

Do I need Adobe, Corel or some other graphics software? Im lost. I think I may have gotten in over my head.

Welcome Ray,

I am from the Schaumburg area. Send me the file and I will take a look at it.

dave@piratedaves.com

Dave