Sign in to follow this  
SunsetWolf31

Question about tape and bubbles

I have been using R-tape Clear Conform AT-42, but when I did signs for my van and peeled off the tape there was tons of bubbles. And I've noticed this happening on just about everything that I do, all the mirrors, magnets etc. Am I taking the tape off wrong, using the wrong tape, should I be doing a wet application? And how do you do a wet app.? I've only done dry.

how do you do that? I've never done that, I've only done dry before. Have no idea what wet application is or how it's done.

YouTube search revealed.....

This is just the first on the search came up with.

How you squeezee can effect the amount of bubbles also . YouTube has MUCH info & there is posts here  :rolleyes:

ok now my question is, with the tape that I am using, R-tape Clear Conform AT-42, when I do a dry app I go over and make sure there are no bubbles. But when I peel off the tape, all these bubbles appear. Is it because there is too much tack on the tape, and what tape should I use, or will doing a wet app eliminate the bubbles when peeling the tape off?...Thanks for all the help.

the clear stuff is not for wet app. it is for doing layers.

I use clear tape on decals given to customers. Why? It lays flat, and it looks good. Plus, when they screw up the application, they'll ask me to do it next time.

I hate applying with clear. I love taping with clear.