I just sold a job for some interior signage that consists of 10 letters 20" tall (bauhaus font) and I'm trying to figure a price for the. The plan is 3/4" plywood primed and painted and mounted to the wall with cleats hidden behind the letters to give them a shadow effect. I have never done this type of work before so I am at a loss as far as pricing.

if you do plan on making these I would suggest HDU or expanded PVC, even pink foam is going to be much easier to work with in shape and going to hold paint a lot better.

The plywood will match other work at the location. Had thought about foam board but I don't have time for a learning curve on this job and I priced a sheet of primed mdo and damn near fell out of my chair. Not factoring substrate what would you think of labor wise say with mdo or plywood.

what kind of finishing is that mean are they a rough what are they rustic looking? are they stained and clear coated? prime painted polished? Mounting are they going to be on standoffs about an inch off of the wall?

I would not suggest mdo unless you have a cnc. Stuff cuts harder than plywood.

10 letters that big depending on finish I would be at least 500. Finished nice and mounted if I made them well over a grand. Why not order from gemeni?

This is going to come down to time. Gemini was an option but the other stuff appears to be A/C plywood and the want to match that. Finish is going to red paint and as far as shine level it doesn't need to be any smoother than a painted sheetrock wall. My mounting system will leave the letters 3/4" off the wall for a reveal. I have used this type of mount for cabinets in the past with good results. The letters will just drop down on the cleat.

A small block will be attached at the bottom of the letters on the back to keep the spacing off the wall consistant.

post-40404-0-15927500-1383324299_thumb.j