jeff0246

10 Must have items for a newbie on shoestring budget...

I am new at this. I am jobless, and no real prospects in the near future. I had a cutter a few years back and did LOVE it, but did not have time to really put my heart into it. I used signblazer software, and had a small toolbox with assorted tools. I made a little money, but like I mentioned I did not have the time to market the business or really "work it" so to speak. Now I have the time (in excess,) and the desire, but lack the funds to spend even $1000, $2000, or more to get started. I have under $750 to get a cutter, some materials, business cards, and, well whatever else comes up. Here are my questions:

If you were in my situation what would you buy for a cutter?

What items, other than the cutter, would you buy to get started?

What program would you use?

I only know how to do very simple signs, so I am thinking of naming the business "Simple Signs" so I can focus on simple jobs that are quick, and easy... Labeling doors, windows, etc. Any thoughts on the name of the business?

Please no naysayers...I know some will be negative about the whole thing, but it is my only hope. There are no jobs here in Southwest Florida, and I am desperate :-[ :-[

I still use SignBlazer , it does everything I have needed or wanted . I bought a Copam & still think that is the best entry level cutter , but the P-Cut has done many people a great job . Call USCutter & see if they have deals on a returned unit no matter what cutter you decide on . They are personally checked out & better than a new unit IMO , plus cheaper . I think a name like " Signs Right Now " or something that denotes immediate service would get you more business . There are a few negative members here , but thankfully very few .