Sign in to follow this  
Katmthompson

Getting Started with the MH 721

I am new to cutting and just set up the MH 721. I downloaded the free version of Signcut because the signcut package was out of stock (is this a decent software program for plotters?).

I can't get anything to cut but the test. When I press Cutout in Signcut the cutter flashes yellow showing it is online but then does nothing. Actually it only does this the first time I try then I have to exit Sign Cut and turn the plotter off and then back on to get the cutout to send the image again.

I originally had the cutter set to "Refine Selltopia," but then changed it to Refine "MH/EH 721" as advised in this forum. I turned the Plotter off and then back on, along with restarting the computer and still nothing. I am using the devise "LPT"

If anyone can give me a few tips to get me cutting that would be great.

Guest Terry

I had the same problem. So I connected with the serial cable and then it worked fine.

I'm not sure on the setup,but I know the drivers port settings should be set to ecp/epp printer port and not standard port.The easiest way I have found to run signcut is to have the design you're going to cut in AI format.It automaticaly reads the illustrator extension and brings it up in the cut form.I have flexisign and signcut.I have noticed no difference in the vinyl cuts.Signcut is  a good program for cutting.There are better,but they are also priced high enough that you have to take out a loan to get them.

Thanks Terry and Billy for the quick replys. Billy where do I change the Drivers port settings to ecp/epp? I found the port area in Control panel but do not see where I can change that! Also, within signcut where do I change the design to AI format?