Hello all!

This post is only meant to help others that might be having problems similar to mine. Not to flame anyone. I knew I was taking a chance buying a low end cutter.

I'm new to cutting but not so new to illustrator/photoshop. I do mostly vitntage Mustang stuff. Been sending my files off to be cut by others. A recent experience forced my to get my own cutter. I chose to go with the 871 as a starter and replace it after I've piled up some money.

Anyway. My cutter arrived June 6, 2012. I set it up as soon as I got home and started reading the documentation and watching videos on US Cutters. IT was not long before I was cutting and not much longer before it started making a horrific noise. Feed rollers were poorly adjusted. For some reason my laptop would not download the pdf for adjusting them so I contacted support. Jaime sent them to me via email.

The next day I was able to cut a 52x26 piece of greenstar matte black with a complete stripe set on it. There were a few areas where I had to finish cutting through the vinyl in order to weed it.

After applying the stripes to the car I decided one piece was not level enough and that I wanted to reduce the size of a logo. I ran through a ton of vinyl trying to cut the replacement pieces. The problem was that it would cut fine then not cut through, then cut fine, etc.

I adjusted the bade thinking it just needed to cut a little deeper. Eventually it got to where it was cutting into the vinyl when advancing to the next cut.

Mad at the world and ready to box it up and send it back for an upgrade, I decided to take one last run at it. I was running it from my laptop using usb. Reading many posts here on the board and other I decided to change it to my desktop and run it from the serial port using XP. No change.