Sign in to follow this  
thelavishking

Cutter will not cut.

I am very new to the cutting process.  I have recently bought a cutting plotter, and I am having trouble with the cutter.  I use SignBlazer software.  When I am finished design, and I click "Cut" the cutter does not move, it never cuts.  Is there something that I need to do differently? 

Guest gracewriter

What type cable are you using?  Did you set up the port in signblazer?

Guest gracewriter

which cutter do you have?

Guest gracewriter

are you on  a desktop or lap top?

Guest gracewriter

Me too. I had problems with my usb with the refine.  I switched to a serial port and all is well.  Not sure if that is your problem. Did you go to the set up menu in signblazer and click the drop down menus for a refine in the cutter menu and click your port in the output device drop down menu?

Guest gracewriter

I hate it when that happens.

If you are sure you have the setup menu set up correctly, sometimes all you need to do is reboot your system and turn off your cutter.  when you system is back up, turn your cutter on.  Look in your set up and find the serial port, make sure you have it clicked.

Guest gracewriter

do i have to change the "comm setting"?  What do I change?  Anyone Please help.

Give me a few minutes and I'll take a pic.of my setting and load it up.

Guest gracewriter

Do your settings look anything like this?

To get to your settings, click cut, it'll bring you over to the cutting screen.  Then click settings.

post-0-12986521917827_thumb.jpg

post-0-12986521930258_thumb.jpg

Guest gracewriter

Your com port may not be the #1 like mine.  It might be 3 or 5 or whatever but it's easy to find.

Guest gracewriter

If you are having problems finding your port in the drop down menu then we need to go to device manager and see what's in there.  Let me know.

Just to start out with, currently what are you using to connect to your cutter? usb, serial?