Sign in to follow this  
WildCutter

Software for a real deal newbie

I was hoping someone could tell me what software would be best for my old plotter.  I have a Wild Aviotab Ta 30 plotter (probably never heard of it, no one else has seemed to) hooked up to a Mac.  I have it physically hooked up serial to USB but so far the computer doesn't even see it.  I'm told that I need software in order for the computer to see it.  The only two software's I've heard of is FlexiSign and Sign-cut X2.  FlexiSign can get expensive although I did find the FlexiSign8 Mac starter for $120.00 here on USCutter.  But do I want a "starter" kit?  I tried a 1 day pass with sign-cut X2 but I couldn't get anything to work. 

I'm really a newbie and don't hardly know anything about plotters/cutters.  I'm knowledgeable with computers so I was the one appointed to get this thing going.  I'm just looking for your basic needs in cutting letters.  Looks pretty neat actually.  Can anyone point me in the right direction or give me any tips on getting the cutter working?

Thank you!

Kimon at Signcut would be the one who would know the answer.He'll be around soon.

Sure be happy to help, first please tell us in have you installed the usb drivers for your cutter? They should have come with the adapter. Open Signcut click the cutter button and tell us what you have selected for manufacturer, cutter, device and baud rate.

Your particular plotter is an oldie but a goody, I have not set one up myself but we do have users using them. If you can get it to communicate with your Mac  we can output to it.