Sign in to follow this  
jgreen

Long term banner material?

I am looking for long term banner material.  The heaviest I have found is 16oz. material.  I've never used anything that heavy before.  Doing twelve banners that will be outdoors along our main street.  I want them to last as long as possible.  They will be taken down during the winter months.

Are these going to be Lamp Post Banners? I have used a 18oz block out banner from Creative Banner (I think it is there Titan Brand). These were 30"x 60" and digitally printed on both sides. They have been up now for over a year with no problems except some of the existing brackets should have been replaced before the install. The city would not let me install them due to insurance reasons, so I was left out of the loop on that part. We are in Southern Minnesota where the wind really blows and the bitter cold this past winter has not effected them.  Of course them stitched with a pocket on the top and bottom and down the sides and the stitches were re-enforced with a nylon strap.

That is exactly what I'm making, Dimensions and all.  I like the nylon strap idea along the seams.  18oz. material seems plenty heavy to me too.  The bracket measurements the city gave me were 30x60" so I am assuming I will need to center the pockets on the 60" measurment.  I am going to make a trial banner first to make sure the fit is right though.

they can also be done using thinner material and stitching them back to back but of course uses a lot more material.

To clarify my previous post "Of course them stitched with a pocket on the top and bottom and down the sides and the stitches were re-enforced with a nylon strap."  there is no pocket on the sides but the nylon strap goes across the top and bottom where the stitch is by also on the side on the inside of the pockets so that the bracket post do not wear the vinyl out and cause it to tear.