Lonestargraphics

How do you charge? sq ft,etc?

Hey everyone! Well I am fairly new to the businesss so I wanted to ask how everyone charges for their vinyl work. Do you simply charge so much per square foot? Or is there another way you figure it? Any info would be great! I know that prices vary from area to area but I want to see if there is a common ground with it. Thanks!

I'm a noob, but I would look at it like this:

Your vinyl is a fixed cost, you know that if you bought a 24" x 10YD roll for $25.00 (Oracal 641 Shipped to your house (don't forget to include your shipping costs so you're not eating the cost), Every square foot of vinyl cost you about .42 cents.

I like to think of vinyl consumption in terms of linear feet, because its probably the quickest calculation (often you can do it in your head) to figure out how much vinyl will be used.  In the example above, a linear foot would cost .84 cents. this way, if someone says they need 50 4" x 6" stickers, you can probably print either 4 or 6 across your 24" roll and eat up a little over 4 linear feet which would come out to $3.36.  Call it an even $4.00 just to ensure you cover your material cost well enough.

Your variable cost comes in when looking at the complexity of the weeding involved.  If you're doing a single, large sign or graphic, and it will only take you 10 minutes to weed it out, you may only charge a couple bucks for the "Labor".

If you're doing someting like a smaller sticker for a band, and you need to do a couple hundred of them, figure out your takt time to weed, tape and trim down a single sticker.  Add 25% of the time it takes to complete a single sticker. Multiply it out by how many stickers you have to do and you'll know exactly how long it will take you to complete the finishing steps.