lidowho

San Francisco Basic Help

Hi all!  I'm new to this forum.  Actually I'm new to vinyl cutters.  I just discovered their existence last week by accident while searching for something completely different.  After my mind stopped reeling from the possibilities of what I could do with this kind of machine, I quickly snatched up a Graphtec CE5000 from US Cutter.  It was delivered to me yesterday.  I set up the machine and have been attempting to plot something, with no luck (thought I'd print to test it out before cutting).  It's frustrating because I've read the instructions and am pretty sure it's all setup correctly.  But after reading the manual, I realize I don't know any of the basic language and terms of use for this type of machine.

I'm an artist in the San Francisco Bay area.  I've been paying people a million dollars to make vector files and stencils for me and then waiting months for them to complete the job.  I should be able to do all of this, and more, myself now.  However, other than viewing every UTube video on vinyl cutters, I have never seen these machines in action.  The user manual is for technical information and is lacking descriptions of the various functions.  I'd love to see the machine in action and get some very basic information on the use of cutters.  I don't mind experimenting to do my own projects, but the basics...  Does anyone know of a good book or video to show me the language and descriptions of functions for these machines?  Is anyone out there from the SF Bay Area that I could visit to look over their shoulder and see the machine in action?  Or is someone out there interested in showing me how to use my own machine.  I will, of course, pay for their services.  I'm good with computers and learn quickly.

Thanks!  Lido

Wow Ken, I don't know how I missed that part of their website, but it looks like exactly what I need!  Thanks!!

Guest Terry