bk2design

Etching and sandblasting tips & tricks

Guest Schramm

Do they sell well?  Looks nice when done, have you ever done them without the paint?  I think that the carved look in the stone would be nice.

Do they sell well?  Looks nice when done, have you ever done them without the paint?  I think that the carved look in the stone would be nice.

That's just a tut I found. I'm just starting out in this. Tryin' to find more ideas, etc.

I literally just did my first one

sorry the pic is kinda big and bad cause its from my blackberry.

Wayne

post-2294-12986530652804_thumb.jpg

post-2294-12986530666844_thumb.jpg

that is sandblasted,  with that 70 grit aluminum oxide stuff @ harbor freight

you know, I probably went a little longer than I should have cuz I was worried that It wouldnt do the tiny print well, but it sure did..

Wayne

Wow, that link you posted is killer bk!  There forum has a ton of posts too:

http://www.cuttingedgesandcarving.com/forums/index.php?

I bought a cheapy handheld blaster at HF, and the same 70grit media and am having great results at basic etching/frosting.  However, to do something like the tutorial posted above, you are going to have to blast for a LOOOONG time it seems like.  I'm more than likely going to buy a blasting booth to recycle media.

Anyone know how much better silicon carbide works compared to basic aluminum oxide?

I literally just did my first one

sorry the pic is kinda big and bad cause its from my blackberry.

Wayne

Looks good Wayne!!! I've been trying some too with some glasses I picked up at Ollie's Bargain Outlet.

hehehe, That one was fresh from the dollar tree!

although if you look carefully you can see a crack in it, that would be where I was so excited seeing how well it worked I accidentally hit the fridge with it in a frenzy to dry it and throw my paper towel out. hahaha