Sign in to follow this  
Zag300zx

Cut start and stop not at the same spot

Hey guys. I am new to vinyl cutting, picked up a Titan 2 to primarily cut some 12 mil vinyl. My longer cut lengths, say around 5" or more, the end of the cut is around .050-.100" off from where it is supposed to stop. I'm thinking the material is moving or shifting during the cut. I've checked the offset and it appears correct. I put the pen plotter in with some paper and the ends line up perfectly. Blade depth is set perfectly, no scoring on the backing.

My gut tells me either my force is too high or the speed is too high. I'm cutting at 300in/min and 300g. Perhaps the roller pressure needs adjusting?

Just want some guidance before I go wasting a bunch of material. Thanks!

people just get in trouble messing with pressure of the rollers - 

slow it way down - 

always pre feed and enver make the cutter pull off a roll

• Like 3

4 hours ago, Dakotagrafx said:

people just get in trouble messing with pressure of the rollers - 

slow it way down - 

always pre feed and enver make the cutter pull off a roll

I agree DO NOT TOUCH THE ROLLER PRESSURE you will regret it

• Like 2

You say it's getting off on a 5 inch cut? Did you mean 5 foot? When you say it's not meeting does it look like it would have but came up short or that it is out of alignment and missed the mark? 

Something you might try just for kicks is a couple lighter passes at 110g or something like that to see if it will change anything for you. If it does change then you are assured you are dealing with it getting pulled out of alignment. 12mil is reasonably thick vinyl and you may be at the limit of a standard 45 deg blade and fighting that too, a 60 deg might be a good idea. Don't know what blades you are using but you might try a Clean Cut blade. Much higher quality than most of the cheaper ones and will definitely decrease the cutting force.