Amateur

Tracing shape by hand and transferring

Hi everyone,

Sorry in advance for this question I am a complete novice, but I want to figure out what cutter and what software I need to accomplish the below.  

I want to apply vinyl to very unique shapes that I am not able to draw within software.  I basically wrap paper around the piece I need to install vinyl on and cut it to the shape I need.  However, I would like to save the shape within software for future use.  Ultimately, I want to be able to cut the shapes on one piece of vinyl.  Is there a way to transfer a shape created by hand to a vinyl cutter or to software and then to the cutter?

can anyone help to let me know what type of software and cutter would be able to do this?  I think I would like to put it all on a 30” sheet.  

thanks for your help!!

Scan your cut out paper and you can then trace your shape in most vector programs (best done by hand in manual mode). You might want to measure the length of same easy to check part so you make sure to get the scale just right. My home scanner scans exactly to scale which may be a miracle but it works out good for me. 

• Like 2

If the design is too big for your scanner, a photo can work as well. You have to make sure you get a good straight on/flat shot but it can work quite well.

As for cutter/software. A cutter that can handle 24" rolls of vinyl is pretty common. You can get bigger but often times designs can be broken down so they'll fit on a smaller machine. Get the best cutter for your budget, you really do get what you pay for in the world of cutters. If you're trying to go as cheap as possible, you might be tempted by the price of the MH, but if you can afford it, step up to the next level and get an SC. The MH will work, but it takes a lot of patience and persistence to get it working well. On the plus side, it will teach you a lot about setting up cutters though. :)