MaryAnn Chung

T Series Cutter cutting mirrored and backwards

My cutter was working quite fine cutting in the right direction. I needed to move my computer so to get a longer cable , I used a usb extension that came with my magic jack and cutter defaulted to mirror cut and top to bottom instead of right to left direction. 

If I select MIRROR button it cuts unmirrored but backwards and still downward. I removed the extension but it has not resolved. I also tried uninstall/reinstall the cutter but no resolve.

I have a generic "made in China" cutter. I'm not a professional and I'm on a tight budget. I saw elsewhere that a Keyspan USB/Serial adapter will resolve the issue. I see cheaper ones than Keyspan...will they work? I appreciate any help. Thank you kindly.

What is a magic jack?

The data being sent to the cutter can sometimes degrade over a long USB, or when using a USB extension. Have you tried to go back to the original setup (computer & USB cable) to see if the problem persists, or if it will cut normally? That might also help to eliminate the extension or whatever that magic jack is.

11 hours ago, MaryAnn Chung said:

I see cheaper ones than Keyspan...will they work?

Maybe, but it's a gamble, Keyspan is known to work for sure and is worth the extra few bucks. You'll also need a serial cable, cutter should have come with one. If you do not have the original cable, check the manual to see if you need a straight cable or a null modem cable. Most cutters use a Null modem, but not all.

12 hours ago, MaryAnn Chung said:

My cutter was working quite fine cutting in the right direction. I needed to move my computer so to get a longer cable , I used a usb extension that came with my magic jack and cutter defaulted to mirror cut and top to bottom instead of right to left direction.