Gypo

SignCut Pro pre cut feed

I'm new to vinyl cutting, bought my first cutter a week ago and trying things out to see what I'm capable of.

The cutter is a Red Sail RS720C, not an expensive cutter but seems to work fine and will do me while I learn what is what.

The problem is when I tell SignCut to cut a design it feeds about 400mm of vinyl before it starts the cut.  

I have looked at the various SignCut settings but I cant see anything that looks like it will stop it. 

I tried a few things but none have worked, sorry I cant remember which I tried as I tried so many a few days ago.  I have also watched numerous videos on YouTube in the hope someone will in them would help but no luck.

I have wasted a lot of the vinyl I have bought trying settings that wont stop the pre cut feed.

Can anyone please help?

Fingers crossed.

Regards Gypo

• Sad 1

Are you pushing the ORIGIN button on the cutter before you send the cut?  You must, that is where the cutter starts measuring from.  Most cutting software will go to the point of where the design was created first, then come back to finish the order.  I use Flexi software and make large designs,  20" x 96"L.  The cutter may travel 3 ft and start cutting, then come back to the front to finish the rest of the design. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I agree with Skeeter. Your software things the zero is 400mm in there. Set origin first and it should say 0 on both the X and Y axis. I don't know much about the Redsail cutter as to whether you control the zero on the machine or in the software. Some are manual some are only by the computer. Both cutters I have owned had could go either way and I choose manual.