losse

Hix and Frusion vs PowerPress and BetterSub

Hi there!

New to heat presses and wondering why the big price gap between machines like HIX you can find online for $1000+ versus those machines you can find on Amazon like PowerPress for $300 or less? This is for a shirt business but low volume. I'll be surprised if I do 500 shirts per year.

Thank you!

• Like 1

Nix and hotronix have more heating coils in the platen and more even temperature.  Hotronix support is incredible. Cheaper presses tend to have uneven heat and have more problems with having not adhering properly but most of us started with Chinese presses until we could move up . 

• Like 1

Ive been using a cheap Chinese heat press for 2 yrs now. plans are to upgrade to a fusion when the business pays for it.  I paid for the starter equipment out of pocket , then let the business justify upgrading. Like Dakota said the main difference is the uneven and fluctuating heating, and with mine im basically guessing on pressure.  I also use an infrared gun to double check the heat. so must of the time I will do a 2nd press.  so as with everything else , you get what you pay for. a friend of mine started with a fusion. he doesn't have any of those issues. you set both pressure and temp and don't have to worry about any changes.

• Like 1