friskydragon

Software help

Hi all, 

I'm totally new to vinyl cutting, but have purchased a cutter and heat press to create t-shirts for a Karate company I run. I just have a couple of questions that people maybe able to help me with. 

I'm struggling with software to create new design in, don't know where to start. Is there a simple programme anyone can recommend? I'm also using signcutter pro 2. What file format do I need top save my designs in for the software to recognise them?

Thanks

The best software for the buck right now is vinyl master, comes in several versions depending on what functions you need.   Don’t save but export all of your work in .eps as most vector based software will allow you to import .eps files in case you change software down the road or someone tries to help you with a file they can also work with it.    Welcome from the USA. 

That's an easy thing to answer. 

Download and install SignBlazer.

You can accomplish a lot with it.

Don't forget to Mirror your cuts for HTV

while signblazer was way ahead of its's time it hasn't been developed in the past 8 years since the owner passed away unexpectedly.  if it had continued development I am sure it would be dominating the market as it was cheap and good - but if you want to futureproof your operation I still recommend vinylmaster as it is constantly updated and still supported.

Traditional, cutting software cut.  You feed it a design.  It cut it out.  Lately, cutting software has been attempting to double as design software.  Signcut Pro1 had no design options.  Signcut Pro2 does, but I find them suboptimal.  Consider using dedicated vector design software to make your designs.  It is designed for design.  Free would be Inkscape, Gravit, or maybe Figma, (haven't tried that yet.)  Commercial would be Illustrator, CorelDraw, Affinity Design, (with Affinity Design being very cheap.)