girlonthem00n

Software?

Hey everyone! 

So I'm brand new to the forum, just found it a few days ago and have been going through older posts trying to educate myself on a few things. I've been thinking about starting my own cutting business for over a year now and have been doing research on equipment and tools needed. By trade, I'm a graphic designer and I have made decal files for a company I used to work for so I'm familiar with the initial file setup and would say I'm an advanced user in Illustrator and Photoshop. After making the .eps file, I would always pass it off to our print room operator and he would actually run the file and would produce the decal. Because of this, I don't really know which cutting software is the best to work with or if the software that ships with the cutter is sufficient.

I'm pretty sure I've decided on the Graphtec CE6000 Plus and I see that it comes with the Graphtec Studio Software and the Cutting Master 3 Plugin. On USCutter they offer an add-on of SignCut Pro Lifetime for an extra +$269. Is that something worth getting or does it not really offer much more than the Graphtec Studio can do? I've been having trouble finding a decent software guide where I can compare features and would love to have some advice based on your experience. Any other advice on must-have purchases would be greatly appreciated, are any of the other add-ons worth it?

Apologies if this is asked often - I tried to do a search on the forums and couldn't find the exact info so I figured I'd just ask directly. Thanks in advance for any advice!