Sign in to follow this  
binklewis

newbie - having to use way too much pressure and frustration ....

Hey all - newbie here ... I'm about to pull my hair out .. I recently purchased a 25" laserpoint II - first complaint - whoever thought it was a good idea to make me try to accurately drop a flipping screw thru 2 holes and only screw it into the bottom one (cross bar install) needs their head examined - I was soooooo infuriated with that stand install - something that should have taken me 30 minutes took me 4+ hrs - here's why:  when it was finally together and time to put the cutter on the stand braces - the screws on the bottom of the cutter got in my way on one side, so the cutter wouldn't sit level.  I ended up having to take 3 screws out, one of which I'm pretty sure was holding something in place - so there's my caveat :-).  I tried it every which way - backwards, the whole nine yards - there is just something defective with either the stand braces or my cutter - i'm positive of it - I will not entertain user error at this point :-) 

Anyhoo - once I finally got the thing on the stand, it appeared to be functioning properly, then it was time to set my blade depth.  I've done the manual method, keeping it just under the credit card width, but here's what's going on: 

1. I've had to set the blade depth more than I should (CC depth or more), AND i'm having to use pressure of 300g or higher to get anything to cut and weed cleanly.  It will cut at 200, but it's not thru the vinyl for my design and half of it comes up when weeding.