Primal Decals

!!!!!!Back lit sign help!!!!!!!!

I dont have a picture yet of the old sign ,but will upload it when i get home...So my customer that i have done work for before is wanting a new sign to match the design ive created for them..I have never done this type of sign work this before so im looking for help for you great experts lol.Its the white plastic that the lettering goes on and lights up at night, I was hoping the old sign was made using the translucent vinyl but its not,Its printed so now i have to find what this stuff is called and where i can get it, hopefully at a local hardware store or like home depot type store? And how does the translucent actually work when picking colors? I will be dealing with a color similar to Purple Red,Black and Possibly a Turquoise  color  as well using the oracal colors  as a reference . I have the color chart for the translucents and know i need to pick colors as close as posssible to my design,but is the colors actually going to be the color i pick or will there be a difference from daytime viewing versus when the lights come on at night from behind?  I hope i have given enough info ,Like i said this is a new adventure in doing this type of sign for me,But i am not afraid lol..Thank you in advanced Big Time..Dwayne

The white plastic is called Polycarbonite.  usually 3/16" thickness.  it comes in rolls so you'll have to cut it down to the size you need.  Use a fine tooth blade in a skill saw.  Denco sales is where we get ours, but most sign substrate distributors sell it.  It's relatively inexpensive.  They sell it in 50"and 100" heights and then whatever length you need.  If the sign you are replacing is over 36" tall, you need to check the cabinet to make sure it allows for a hangar bar.  This prevents the polycarbonite from flexing too much due to the weight and height of itself.