$corpio35

Help for a newbie

Hi all,

As stated I am completely new to this industry so I virtually have very little knowledge about signage and print design.   I apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge in your line of work.   Let me explain how I ended up here.  I play hockey and I'm a goalie, therefore I have gone thru several goalie masks and I'm about to replace mine very soon with a new one.   I have thinking about getting my new mask custom airbrushed painted as I have with my previous masks.  I then discover that there's vinyl wraps or decals for mask and helmets etc.  I was thinking about doing it myself.   I have heard of wraps for cars or bikes but haven't realized it can be done for masks.   I was thinking about getting into this vinyl wrap and decal as a side business as well.  The reason why I'm here is I need alot of guidance and advice on where to start.

Here are some questions.

What kind of printer would I need to get started?

what exactly is a plotter? Does it cut and print?  What is the price range?

I would like a software where I have complete freedom to draw and design and stock templates to use so What kind of software would I need?

i hear coraldraw is good but is there a specific version?  

I have no idea how to draw on a computer what is the best way to learn?

How do I create templates for goalie masks?

I know there's different kinds of wraps i.e. From 3M,  there's different grades, colors and thickness.  Wraps for mask or helmet or cars must be very thin to cover the compound curves so what thickness would you need?

Can all plotters cut any thickness of vinyl?

I have seen on the Internet people print on a sheet and then put another layer of vinyl on top?  Can't you directly print your design on a vinyl sheet and apply?  I don't think car wraps are produced that way?  

These are a few questions to get started and im sure I'll have more.  Thanks for your help!

:rolleyes: