1rogerl2

New to cutting vinyl

Any help on getting started with equipment to cut Avery yellow mask stencils for Cerakoting firearms? I'm looking at MH and SC equipment but Us Cutter Sales recommended much more expensive Titan 2....not a lot of job starting out so just need something that will cut camo, skulls, Kryptech, and so on..

Thanks in advance

buy the best that you can afford, and stay away from the MH cutters,  my 2c...  You really do get what you pay for. And if your doing small text, a servo cutter is the best for fine detail and text.  Big difference between servo and stepper motors. as far as accuracy. 

• Like 3

Ive been using a SC for quite a few years now. Took some tuning to get what I wanted out of it but it has paid for itself over and over. Im working on getting a graphtec now that I have all my screen printing equipment. But the sc has done everything Ive asked of it. I do many 2.5" wide us flags with perfect stars so cutting small is not a problem. Just have to fine tune the settings to what you need. Im sure the graphtec will be much better but the SC has served me well especially for what it cost

• Like 1

Before the Summa with my stepper cutter I used to cut half a dozen small graphics and usually one or two would turn out ok. As stated by Monkey it CAN be done on a stepper it's just less fun and more dialing in. The servo motors definitely help. I also have found that for super tiny stuff I really like Gerber 225 film. It's pricey and only locally available in 24 or wider but you can over pressure it a little without getting into the carrier because the carrier is clear liner rather than coated paper. Makes small weeding a real breeze. This is still taking into account the servo's cutting precision as well so results may vary.  

The lower cost equipment does not do well on small details.

These are with a "lower cost" SC. Not a graphtec but Id say pretty good with small details. And those stars were before fine tuning