Sign in to follow this  
DD1229

vinyl pulling up while weeding

I am new to cutting vinyl so appreciate help and patience.Just purchased the 15" table Titan I  have cut a few files but the more detail in the file the harder it is to weed. dots and lines that are supposed to stay are coming up when weeding. from reading here trying to learn to fine tune pressure and speed settings. Pressure is at 100 the machine came with the speed set at 325 but read posts last night that said they cut a speed of 50 or 60. Do speed and pressure settings change for different materials because I cut easy weed heat vinyl and it weeded great. The vinyl I am working with is Greenstar Outdoor. I have adjusted the blade to about half credit cars thickness it scored the carrier sheet on the heat vinyl but not the Greenstar. getting long winded hereso I will stop and say thanks in advance     Daryl

"I have adjusted the blade to about half credit cars thickness" Ditch this idea  now.  That is too much blade exposed.

This is how you correctly set your blade depth. Fine details need slower speed.  You should just barely see and feel the blade tip out of the blade holder. 

To start with, you should set your blade depth correctly, by taking the blade holder out of the machine, and firmly cut across a piece of scrap vinyl, you will be cutting. You should only be cutting the vinyl and barely a mark on wax paper backing, Adjust blade to get there, Then put the blade holder back in machine, and use the force of the machine to get there, same results, only cutting the vinyl and barely a mark in wax paper backing.

Ok thanks for the quick reply I will try to re adjust the blade I bought 2 10 yd rolls of GS vinyl can't afford to just ditch them as for speed is 50 - 60 a fair start or more

GS can vary in thickness from roll to roll and even by color. If you get you machine dialed in and adjusted to the vinyl it will cut fine. But you have to work for it.