kkeeble

Merging two items

Im new to using AI.. I found a free legal copy of CS2 just to mess around with it..im trying to take a fire department maltese cross and add the american flag to the middle of the circle only. i have attached to AI file in a zip format

merge.zip

yes it is.. how did you do it in corel draw.. 

Corel Draw opens AI files, and when I got it in I put the circle infront of the flag and told it to simplify it. which basically cuts the circle part out of the flag.

OK STOP IT WITH THE COREL INSTRUCTIONS you are perverting a good thread as they are totally different. LOL! The CS2 program is a little clunky compared to newer versions but still reasonably competent (WAY WAY better than SCALP for isntance and IMO better than Inkscape)

If it's for print you just make a mask. Easiest way it to copy the inner circle ( I use the white selection arrow with the Alt key) and paste another instance on top (Edit>paste in front) If you just select it with the black tool it will select the whole circle and it is a compound path meaning it is the inner part of the circle (the hole essentially) You will also want to ungroup the Maltese because masking functions won't work between two separate groups so if you ungroup the maltese only the circle will be selected. Then just select the flag also and use the Ctrl>7 shortcut or Object>Clipping mask>make. When you paste the innre part of that circle it will be filled but just ignore that and carry on, the fill will go away once you use it as the mask shape. Basically you are cropping the pic and the circle just needs to be on top of the other. You can do this with any shape. 

If you were cutting this in vinyl the process would be different and more factors such as whether you will be using white or not would come into play. 

• Like 2