gcextreme

Bit the Bullet and bought a new desktop pc.

Ok, I have been running the same computer since college 2004, an old Dell Dimension 8300 2.8GHZ P3, with 1GB Ram and 40GB and 120GB hard drives, with Windows XP Pro.

It was time to upgrade.

I got a BestBuy card and got 12 months no interest free financing, and got a new CYBERPOWER PC Supreme Gaming Desktop SLC7000 model.

Specs are as follows:

AMD Vishera FX-9370 Processor with AMD Radeon R9 270X graphics card, 
16GB DDR3 SDRAM expandable to 32GB. 
120GB Solid State Drive and a 2TB HD. 

Has Windows 8.1

It's Liquid and Air Cooled as well.

4288031_sa_zpsitqxlnhb.jpeg

I probably could have built one for less, but time is a valuable expense too. Plus its easier to write the whole big purchase off for taxes than many small parts purchases.

I have 3 flatscreen monitors that will be hooking up to it eventually. 

Gotta get all my software installed on it and transfer my website and cutting files over.

I have been going back and forth between my old dell desktop and a cheap dell d610 laptop that i use for cutting.

So my plan is to use the new desktop for designing, and keep the laptop clean for just hooking up to the cutter for cutting.

All my files will be stored on and accessible they my home based cloud network, so i can easily get to them using the laptop.

• Like 4

you had me till the windows 8.1    everything else I like but would rather poker my eyes with a hot poker than go back to windows 8 anything   :(

I bought a new laptop with Windows 8 and I agree with Dakota. I'm planning to install Vista on it instead.

Wow, what do you guys not like about Win 8? The start up screen? There is a simple fix for that. You can download a free program to make it look and act like Windows 7.

Yeah but it has the Desktop setup option too so its not that bad...but i will miss my XP Pro.

That thing is totally impressive, I mean, it's STUNNING.