Sign in to follow this  
Capt'n Morgan

Software Question For Design Adobe Illistrator Or Correll Draw

If you could buy either one. And wanted the Best which one, which would you buy that will do the best Job.  And oh by the way what's the latest of the versions cost.   Thanks   :thumbsup:

For me corel. But that's only because that's what I started with.

Thanks I just pulled the Trigger on version X7 for 98.00 bucks did I mention I was a student?  :rolleyes:  The student of life that is. These aren't Grey hairs their MILE MARKERS! Which proves I am smarter than the average Bear! B)

I use both, don`t worry about cost.

mark-s

Really!    <_<   you get no likes for that one.  B)

I don't know about corel but adobe is now just a cloud based monthly or yearly payment plan. YUCK! I have an older version (CS5) that I bought. You can download CS2 for free from here: 

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/entitlement/index.cfm?e=cs2%5Fdownloads         You will have to have an adobe account (free) and there is the assumption that you own or purchased an old copy of CS2 ;)

Adobe has a steep learning curve but once you learn it it's awesome. CS2 doesn't have all the bells and whistles that the newer versions do but is still a very robust program and will give you a taste of whether you want to learn it or not because all the basic functions are the same as the newer versions. You can also get a 30 day free trial of the CC version. Just be prepared to pull your hair out a little at first. 

Most of us also download Inkscape (free open source) as well just to have it around. Some on here are real proficient with it. 

I have both plus Inkscape.

If I had to choose just one...it would be Corel.

AI seems a bit cumbersome at times.

There are things AI can do better than Corel and vice versa.

It may be that I started with Corel 3.0 and am more

comfortable with it....

If I need to make a graphic, poster, design....etc

I go to Corel first.