Sign in to follow this  
wf2ste

Banner size

Hi,

I have been designing a banner in Photoshop, I have never done this before but I followed a video on YouTube on how to setup in Photoshop.

Before I send my artwork can anybody confirm that I have actually done it right.

I need it 6x2 and setup as following 72 x 24 inch 300dpi

That's a pretty hefty file but its may be where you should start. Depends on the Graphics.

May not be what you need if it's mostly text.

...and if there's an image that has to be auto-traced, definately wanna start big in Raster.

I guess you can't post up the .psd.

Are you sending this to a cutter and if so, how? You would be better off working in Illustrator or another vector based program.

MokiDesigns said, "You would be better off working in Illustrator or another vector based program."

Not nessesarly, Moki... We haven't even heard the particulars about the project.

There may be plenty of raster based prep work that needs to be completed first.

You could work your butt of chasing a bunch of nodes around with a cursor,

or, it may be adventagous to stroke it with a brush or wacom pen.

It's a popular misconception that Raster software and the ability to use it is not needed in Design.

Or that it is somehow second to vector abilities. Believe me, If one is learned, it can cut time and effort ten-fold.

If one wishes to just scoot clipart around and arrange it with text only, then sure...

avoid learning and using raster based software and be content with less.

OK, I will bite. 

Tell me what your doing that by creating in raster, then creating cut paths in another program is easier to do in a program that is designed to do it in?

I have been using these programs for more than 15 years. Please explain. 

Why not put your wacom stroke in with ai or corel.