Sign in to follow this  
UponAShelf

Uhhhh........I thought this thing was supposed to cut!!

I am brand new to this and still learning a lot, but I bought my cutter a few weeks ago and FINALLY after trial and error of software I was able to create a quote and sent it to the plotter......well my plotter is cutting a line....that's it just a line......UGH!! Any suggestions?

You don't give any info of what cutter or software. Used on what computer operating system, connected how USB or serial?  If you are using Scalp software, did you activate the software?  You must, or it will cut a line. 

• Like 2

Oh sorry duh....like I said new to this.......

Bought the laser point II

am using Sure cuts  a lot (am not a fan, but for a newbie it seems the easiest to learn) I thought I registered it....I will check into that

You need to "activate" the cutting software.  If it runs in demo mode, it will cut a line.  Make sure the Scalp  software is updated.   There has been many updates to it.

It says it is active, I just went through and did an un-install and a re-install just to be sure, ran another cut and still a straight line?

Is the cutter carriage head moving up or down?  Or just staying down?  Is your design a vector design? 

How did you set your blade depth?

It is just staying down......

I set it up via you tube tutorial and using a sticky note pad to be sure it only cut through the first page....I hope that makes sense.

this is how you set your blade correctly below.  And if the carriage head is not even moving up or down, then you have a problem.  Are you sure the carriage head wheels are firmly in the track?   If all looks alright, then contact UScutter tech support,  Monday.