EF8

Is static electricity causing write port error and other mysterious problems?

Hi guys

I've been using my PCut CTN1200 for quite many years now and every now and then, with no obvious reason, I do get more write port errors. Today, however, while moving the vinyl (3M 50-120) back and forth, I noticed that my Windows Laptop randomly drops the connection to the cutter. After testing this phenomena some hundreds of times :P I removed the vinyl from the cutter and moved some nothingness back and forth. No more dropping of the connection.

Has anyone else noticed this? How have you fixed it?

If your using USB, this can happen.  Better to have a serial connection.  Either serial cable, serial card, or a Keyspan Adapter, (brand name by Tripp-lite),  much better connection.

Write port errors can be caused by plugging the cutter into your computer while the computer is turned on.  Always plug your cutter in while the computer is turned off.   Then turn your computer and vinyl cutter on. You are assigning it a new com port number when you do that.  Then it will not match.

Hmm... You could be right. I believe my problems started once my old XP laptop died and I had to go to a WIN7 laptop, which doesn't have PCMCIA or EC card slot :/ Thus, I had to start using USB instead of serial.

I do have few Aten UC232A's somewhere, do you know/believe if it would help?

Hmm... You could be right. I believe my problems started once my old XP laptop died and I had to go to a WIN7 laptop, which doesn't have PCMCIA or EC card slot :/ Thus, I had to start using USB instead of serial.

I do have few Aten UC232A's somewhere, do you know/believe if it would help?

Tech support ONLY recommends  a Keyspan Adaper  that IS the brand name.... or a BELKIN.  the others will not work.....  Don't go buy a Radio Shack , Best Buy or anything else. They will not work.