ShowMeCleaning

Green Star VS Oracal 651 751

Does Oracal 651 or 751 weed easier than green star?? And why does everyone like Oracal better?? I'm a newbie and finding small letter or small cuts to really be hard to weed with green star. Is it true or is it just me.

Oracal weeds great, as long as you have your cutter  set up correctly.  I think Greenstar is thick and stiff.  

I'm weeding green star going to buy Oracal. I'm weed small letters which I did state in first thread.

Sorry I missed the small letters.   Depending on how small of letters. Some cutters will require a lot of fine tuning to cut real small,  and a 60 degree blade

• Like 1

Small is relative. What size letters are you working with?

That isn't really too small. In my experience Oracal weeded easier than Greenstar but blade setting has more impact on weeding than anything else. If it's hard to separate the blade may not be quite deep enough but if the points are popping up on their own you probably have your blade too deep. Mzskeeter has posted a great set of instructions for setting blade and I would start there before laying all the blame on the vinyl.

here ya go

To start with, you should set your blade depth correctly, by taking the blade holder out of the machine, and firmly cut across a piece of scrap vinyl, you will be cutting. You should only be cutting the vinyl and barely a mark on wax paper backing, Adjust blade to get there, Then put the blade holder back in machine, and use the force of the machine to get there, same results, only cutting the vinyl and barely a mark in wax paper backing.

• Like 1

Oracal weeds great once u get your blade and cutter dialed in. The only issue i have it seems some colors need more pressure.

Just did a motorcycle show on Saturday. Did a cross and rose decal in white, weeded it easily, switched to black..it sucked , had to crank up the pressure 2 notches..then it weeded perfectly.

Jaybird, its me I know.