Sign in to follow this  
JoeCamaro

Working for others? I think I Quit!

As most of you know Im a designer and my main business is shirts. I entered this vinyl world to make my designs and sell my shirts and decals. My intention was to make a brand and do my stuff, see my products on shirts, on car windshields, etc.

The idea was not to be a printing service for other people, but ever since I got my cutter I have been doing shirts for small business and other people for resale. Thats ok, thats money anyways, but I found out being a Printing Service for others and having my brand and produce my stuff are very different things.

Doing banners, signs and promotional shirts and decals is good and that many people do this for a living, but thats not what I was looking for and Im getting tired of it. I think I have to learn how to say NO.

Why I dont like it? Well if I can have my design, put it on a shirt and sell it for $15 to $20, why would I want to be making promo or uniform shirts for other for $5 to $7 a piece? Yeah, I know that six $5 shirts are better than one $15 shirt, but I think I must concentrate in what I really want.

Also, all that time in invest or "waste" doing that, I could be doing more stuff to reach my goal, dont you think? I mean, I still want to do custom shirts, after all that is one advantage of the vinyl, but I dont want to be a screenprinter with vinyl, you know what I mean?

Well my friends, what do you think?

Joe

Well as far as working for others, I say 'I QUIT TOO'!!  ;)  I get tired of making those 'fat cats' fatter, so to speak.  Are you saying you'd quit working all together and start working solely for yourself??  That's a big step unless you are mentally and financially ready for it.  But I've heard of others that have gone out with such determination and did well.  But I'm at the point to say, DO WHAT MAKES YOU HAPPY, isn't that what life is suppose to be about?? GO FOR IT!!

Jenny

Thanx Jenny