Sign in to follow this  
itsmejojo

kingcut a630

I am extremely new to this.  I am only in it to start a new hobby.  I recently picked up a kingcut a630 dirt cheap.  it is currently running of an older PC with windows xp.  I would like to know what I need to do to be able to use my newer PC with windows 8 to do all mt cutting.  any help and info would be greatly appreciated.  thanks

do your self a BIG favor ,,stay back on XP.  You will be miles ahead right there. 

XP is more stable.  I only run XP.  Many are down grading to windows 7 or XP. 

Only reason I'm looking to change is because I only have room for one pc and my older computer with xp is crap. Lots of registry errors and other issues. I got the PC from the same guy I got the cutter and its only cause that's what he was running the cutter on.

Plenty of great deals on used computers on the big auction site,with XP.  including with serial.  You don't need a new fancy computer to run a vinyl cutter. 

My last purchase a couple months a ago was a 15" Toshiba satellite laptop with XP.  works perfect $70, included shipping.

Look around the computer guys on  Ebay,     Many complaints on windows 8.  People going back to 7

skeeter, sometimes they just have to hit thier heads a few times before the ears turn on.

• Like 1

I've smacked my head on this very topic. STAY WITH XP!!!! I am telling you this from my new laptop with 8 that is terrible for sign cutting. I know a few will disagree but I can tell you from my experience don't do it.

If you want to fix up the XP box it should be pretty easy or even try to restore it. I have heard bad things about Windows 8 especially regarding cutting. I run windows 7 without any issues but like everyone has said, we have seen or experienced incompatibilities with Windows 8 and cutters or the software related to them.