twentythreemx

easy question with layering, help please!!

So im still new with all of this, for multi colored i understand the concept of layers but what I dont understand is what to do if they over lap. I know laying vinnyl over the vinyl is fine, but what about edges?

See this example, I created it real quick as a test. I cut one out and stuck it ona  desk and it looks ok, but I have to do a big (over 2 ft) log that will be similar with the text over lapping a shape..

will you see the line real bad? (You barley notice it on the desk but im worried on a larger scale it wont look good).. would it be best to cut out and leave empty space inbetween the text and the star? (just a small amount?)

What is best way to do it? im worried if i try to leave a little blank space it will be very hard to line up right (even using reg marks)

example:

27267621.png

• Like 1

bump.. please help. have another one like this to do. the customer doesnt want space inbetween..

It will be 3 layer... text with an outline, and then a drop shadow.

Whats the best way to go about it? the text/outline is easy..obviously the white text will sit on top of the black outline.. but what about the red shadow..

Should that shadow be the full size of the whole logo, and then line up the text/outline perfect in it? (my worry is that it wont line up perfect and you will see bits and pieces of it underneath the edges, or the opposite, you the top layer may over hang a little and not stick then)

Or should I just lay the outlined text right over the off set shadow? My worry is that you might see a line across it where the bottom layer stops??

Example

60674428.png

hmm sounds like laying the outlined text right over the off set shadow or laying the red off set shadow over the outlined text are your best options to me if you can't have a space between the off set shadow..