boxza

Total newbie looking to start a sticker business..

Hey all. I'd like to start up a small sticker business selling vinyl stickers / decals for bikes. The stickers would need to be in full colour and able to withstand outdoor use.

I only have around £500 to start with though, so I don't know where to look to find decent equipment at that price. I've seen the Roland BN-20 which looks like a good one to save up for, but at the moment I don't have the funds to afford it.

So yeah, any information regarding which printer / cutter / material I should look at would be very appreciated. Cheers! :)

welcome if you want full color you need to print if you want to cut vinyl thats cheaper printing vinyl a good machine is 1500

So you're saying a machine that cuts out just one colour of vinyl would be the best starting method? What is the actual name for a machine that does that so I can start looking into them? And thanks for your reply.

These types of "I have no clue" threads are awesome!!!

Welcome, DJB, how ya doing?

Whats in your business plan? How much space will your business require? What about room for Expansion and Growth? Who are your target customers? Where are they buying currently? Do you have examples/samples of the main products you're thinking of making yourself? Are you producing everything in-house or subbing out to other companies to produce? If producing yourself, do you have enough experience already with graphics programs, such as Adobe Illustrator?

Of course, you realize that by owning an actual retail business you have to be there all day every day. Yep that you do. When you say "sticker business", you may find yourself at this 12 hours plus a day, everyday.

You are going to have to work it hard if you want to succeed.

There are a ton of questions and things to know before getting into this, and along the way you'll have to constantly re-evaluate your business plan to see if you're going about it the right way.