muibubbles

Can these plotters cut fine/small details?

This is my first cutter and im new to cutting vinyl's as well so im not sure what to expect out of the lower end MH cutter.. Attached is the original sticker im trying to replicate. i traced it in inkscape and cut it in SBE (the matte black) but if you look closely the font isnt as sharp and the edges look to round out. is this because the cutter cant cut that fine of detail or are my settings wrong? on the last trial i was cutting at 180mms?(speed) and at 40g? (force)

is this level of detail only expected from high end machines? am i wasting my time/vinyl trying to get the image sharper?

the "CR" and "work emotion" came out great. the "W work" and the "fine performance wheel" came out less desirable. just for reference "work emotion" is about 7.3" long

DSC_1638.jpg

DSC_1639.jpg

If you want to cut lettering under 1/2" you will need a cutter with a servo motor, such as a Graphtec, Roland, or Zencut Black. The lower end cutters have

stepper motors and don't do very well with lettering below 1/2".

The problem is not the cutter. I can tell by looking at it that it's the tracing. I've seen it too many times.

tracing can round edges. You can adjust edge filters to help in some programs,not sure about inkscape. I would just start from scratch and recreate the file.

Try cutting one a bit larger and see if it still looks the same. If it does,the problem is the file,not the cutter.

john, youre right, i blew the image out 2x the size. and the font does have a little rounding on it as well. do you have any recommendations for any other free programs to do this in? ironically in inkscape there are now rounded edges unless they are designed in it.... hmm

if anyone has one of the better unit and doesnt mind trying to cut it to see confirm it is my file not my cutter thatd be greatly appreciated! its only ~ .5"x5"

-ben

fine performance wheel test.eps