Sign in to follow this  
JMC

Hello to all ,and where do I begin?

I am looking for a cutter/plotter or?LOL have been doing some reading and man am I confused now , atleast 10x more than before I joined the site

I am looking for a reliable tool to make graphics/masking for painting  ,maybe a sticker here and there for the kids ,neices and nephews etc

24" seems like a good start and I get lost after that  ;D:D

but I have already read that this is junk or stay away from that etc ,what do the pros and the others who may not be pros but would do things differently if had a chance to do it different

so what do you guys recommmend as far as ease of use/learnability ,reliabilty,and parts availabilty

Im no graphic designer but can get my way around a pc and use photo shop alright LOL

any help and insight would be great

thanks for any help at all

I started out with a PCut from USCutter and the free SignBlazer software that came with it. It was a great investment and and paid for itself quickly.  Rolands and Graphtecs are the Cadilacs, PCUts and Refines are on the low end. In the middle are Copams and the ZenCut machines. The better quality machines have servo motors where the lower end machines use stepper or incremental motors which are not as accurate an noisier. If contour cutting is something you may be intereested in, the laserpoint has a manual indexing system while the higher end machines have ARMS or automatic registration mark sensors to align printed media for cutting around the outside of individual printed decals. I'm not sure what your budget is but I would get the best cutter you can afford. That's the bast place to start.

Jay

thanks for the way you broke down the main players as far as whos who,

as far as a budget lets say a grand, but I would like this to be a package kind of deal and keep my spending right at 1000

contour cut, lasers,  automatic trade mark readers , :D

I pick things up quickly but care to also dumb that down abit for me