Sign in to follow this  
kart45

Greenstar White, adhesive separation issues anyone?

I've been using the Greenstar vinyl for a couple months now without any issue both on vehicles/racecars and some light/temp storefront installations. I recently ordered up a 24" x 10yd roll of white for a tailgate rig and experienced something I hope to never experience again on an install.

This was on an older GM Step Van that had a nice orange paint job. I prepped using Rapid Prep, then Rapid Tac II (the green stuff) for final prep clean. I applied the white vinyl using Rapid Tac II, Greenstar White and Greenstar paper app tape. Should be textbook, right  :thumbsup:

Well as I started to conform around some molding, I squeegeed and squeegeed without much luck. My fingers started to get sticky. What I thought were bubbles of application fluid were in fact gobs of adhesive being pushed out from under the vinyl/tape. Luckily I was able to remove the tape enough to apply heat to the surface and vinyl (by the way, ambient temp was mid 80's and surface temp was within +/- 10 degrees of that. Low humidity, partial shade)

The heat helped but I was left with a mess of bubbly white vinyl which was the base for the rest of the color graphics to lay on, and of course, 12 hrs. until ESPN Gameday rolled into town... I have Oracal on order to replace this, to hopefully keep the customer happy.

So long story short, has anyone else had any trouble with Greenstar, white in particular? I haven't had any trouble with any of the other colors except for this roll of white. I kinda thought the adhesive felt a little different, and a little less tacky on the white. I sold a rear window graphic to a kid prior to producing this tailgate rig and he called asking for a 're-do' cause it didn't stick. He installed it dry on a slider rear window and said he didn't clean the glass very well so I just wrote it off to bad cleaning on his part, but now it starts to make more sense after seeing this.