Sign in to follow this  
xpfguy

Total Noob here, just ordered graphtec, heat press, ect.

Hi all, I just ordered a Graphtec 5000 ce-60, a heat press, some vinyl and a clipart disc. It's going to be a long 5 days waiting for shipping.

I'm another pc user just fed up with problems. I have a MacBook Pro and a Mac mini that I will plan to run the cutter and would like some feedback about software.

I spent all my money so I plan to start out using the free vector software that Les from USCutter recommended until I can afford to purchase Illustrator.

Anyone using inkscape? Any problems with Snow Leapord?

The next questions probably don't belong in this section but I trust some mac users to donate some feedback.

1. Where do I get the vector art (clip art, not sure what to call it, don't know the lingo) to make the "stick people" family thing for the back glass?

2. What are the possible issues for using copyright logos, college football for example?

3. Do I need special vinyl to print on to make sticker, what about heat transfer vinyl?

4. Thanks for any input in advance?

Jason...

1 great plac to start is right on here under vector art section of the forum -  usc also sells clipart, along with signwarehouse and many others.

2  Legal action including fines, confiscation of your equipment and loss of personal property - search copyright on the forum for more info

3  what type of printer are you planning on printing with -ther is a popular thread on here about printing with a desktop printer but for durable professional results you will need a eco sol printer - starts at approx 16000

4 you will also need application tape, squeegees, xacto knife - later a nice cutting mat, straight edge, if doing heat press stuff you will need heat press vinyl, heat press, adn a handy tool is the t-squareit.

thanks,