haumana

Opinions on this stuff

So being a total noob to this whole process, I thought I would pick-up some vinyl in anticipation of getting my cutter (hopefully very soon).

I ran down to (basically the only) sign supply store we have here, and wasn't sure if I should be totally shocked at some of the prices they quoted me. I think I got this straight: 15" x 50 yards - $60 (Oracal 651). I ended up buying 3 yards (4.50/yard) of the glossy white 651, and a whole roll (100 yards) of the Oracal MT72 transfer tape ($55).

Truth be told, I have no idea what I should be buying and more importantly what I should be avoiding.

Okay, so I ask, how badly over charged was I? Please no laughing. And I'm sure that all your mothers out there taught you not to make fun of the less fortunate  ;D

I don't plan to get into the sign/banner making business. This is purely for fun and a hobby (else I would become work and work is no fun). I was considering buying a sample of colors from these guys and wanted to know what the opinion of this seller and his/hers stuff. Is it a good deal? or is it a rip off? I also checked out Ordway and they have nice sample of MACtac stuff, but I don't think there is anyone in Hawai'i and distributes it, so It's almost moot for me to go down that path. Or if any of you are willing to give-up the eBay IDs of the people you buy stuff from.

http://tinyurl.com/2mf2yv

Please people, any guidance - always appreciated  ;D

-J.

this guy ships USPS (which is what you need,some people only ship UPS or FedEx which would cost you a lot to Hawaii):

http://shop.vendio.com/cncsigns/store.html

For what you need,he has some good deals. Sells good stuff too.

The people you are looking at are too high. They sell in 10 FEET lengths,not yards.

On ebay,I recommend  http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZvynil_windowtint_supply

They have 12 of the 10 YARD rolls for $75 and their stuff is pretty decent.