tinaski

static on vinyl causing problems -- fixed forever

ok i have done allot of research and calling people and manufactures. on how to fix this problem. To put in a nut shell an ionizer will fix it and it does. wow!!!!!! the difference is huge.

first off during the day i am an industrial electrician and night i an a helper for my wifes business im an not an expert at all about static. it is electricity but it has different properties.

so i will try to do my best on how things work and why they do the crazy things that they do. the best i can

please feel free for anyone to correct me if i make an error

here is a web site of the basics of static

http://www.sciencemadesimple.com/static.html

if you read that you would know that vinyl is an insulator it doesn't conduct electricity but the positive and neg electrons are still charging the vinyl roll

kinda like a capacitor it will build up a charge and then zap in most of our cases its the motherboard  

the static cant be wiped off -- cant be taken to ground (grounded out of the vinyl) its an insulator the electricity doesn't flow from left to right from top to bottom  where ever the charge was created it stays.

grounding the cutter is kinda a fix but not the real fix. i had a great web site what explained it but i cant find it now but this was there explanation