Sign in to follow this  
BannerJohn

question for the over 50 crowd.

do any of you take PLAVIX? I have a few questions.

Sorry John, I'm over 50...  ;D No I don't take it... I do have several friends that are very knowledgeable about prescription drugs. PM me if you have a question and I'll see what I can find out.

Peabody

Banner my husband takes Plavix. Have been since Jan. and he takes his at night around 7.

banner   I'm 59 been taking plavix for over a year

Do you take aspirin along with it?

I hav eremoved all posts not relevant to my question.Maybe I should have posted in the mature section. This is serious business.

Guest round2racing

John,

I am a retired paramedic and my ex-husband is still an active paramedic.

Here in the Chicagoland area, he says that plavix is the "next biggest drug".

He said there are a lot of people on it because it has such a great success rate.

However, he did say that it has some of the same side effects as taking Heparin

would one of those side-effects be bruising easily?

would one of those side-effects be bruising easily?

John, yes it would. My g/f said you should not take aspirin, ibuprofen, etc. due to the blood thinning ingredients. She said tylenol would be ok.

Well, let's edit this a little bit.

Plavix and aspirin together is prescribed by doctors for certain types of heart attacks.

Plavix will thin your blood adn aspirin will too.

Check with your doctor please  ;D

doctor told me to take 81mg aspirin along with the Plavix which seems to be standard but I have a feeling my blood is too thin.

If you think you're bruising way too much you could ask your doctor to do a blood bleeding time test, PT INR

If your stools are black and loose go to the doctor soon, this would be a sign of internal bleeding due to it being too thin.

I don't have a doctor. I don't even know the name of the doctor who was my doctor in hospital.